EuroHedge Awards 2009

Venue: Grosvenor House Hotel
Location: London
Dates: Thursday, 21 January 2010 - Thursday, 21 January 2010

The EuroHedge Awards celebrate fund excellence in the European hedge fund industry. The awards themselves are regarded as the most prestigious and accurate in the industry, and the hedge fund community turns out in force to enjoy this stylish occasion. Over 800 hedge fund managers, investors, and other industry professionals will come together to celebrate the achievements of the best performing funds of the previous year. If you want to meet the European hedge fund industry at large, then this is the event to be at.

BlueCrest, Brevan Howard, Gartmore, Jabre and Lansdowne lead EuroHedge Awards winners


Click here to view a full list of winners

BlueCrest, Brevan Howard, Jabre Capital and Lansdowne led the line-up of winners at the annual EuroHedge Awards last night – which were announced at a big hedge fund industry dinner and awards ceremony held at London's Grosvenor House Hotel.

Jabre Capital won the Fund of the Year award with its Jabcap Multi-Strategy Fund, while BlueCrest won the Management Firm of the Year award for the second year in a row – and for an unprecedented third time.

Brevan Howard and the Lansdowne Global Financials Fund were the winners of the two Long Term Performance awards – which are based on the best risk-adjusted returns by hedge funds over a five-year period.

Gartmore was also a big winner on the night – with three of its AlphaGen range of long/short equity funds winning awards (for Volantis in Small-Cap Equity, Tucana in European Equity and Rhocas in Global Equity).

And Pharo – the emerging markets and macro trading firm led by Guillaume Fonkenell – also won two awards for the year, with Pharo Trading winning in Emerging Markets and the Pharo Macro flagship winning the Global Macro award.

The EuroHedge Awards for 2009, now in their ninth year, paid recognition to those funds that had achieved the best risk-adjusted performance across a range of strategy areas in an exceptional year of recovery and returns for hedge funds after the problems of 2008.

Jabcap Multi-Strategy, managed from Geneva by former GLG manager Philippe Jabre, beat off strong competition from a high-quality shortlist of contenders for Fund of the Year – comprising BlueCrest Capital International, BlueGold Global, Brevan Howard, Lansdowne UK Equity and Pharo Trading – while the firm's Jabcap Global Convertible fund won the award for Convertible & Volatility Strategies.

In winning the coveted Management Firm of the Year award for a third time, BlueCrest emerged victorious from a strong shortlist of leading groups comprising Brevan Howard, Brummer & Partners, Gartmore, Jabre Capital, Lansdowne and Marshall Wace – all of which achieved multiple award nominations for their performance in 2009.

First-time winners included GLG Alpha Select in UK Equity, Zebedee Focus for European Equity (for funds with assets below $500m), Sloane Robinson Global Emerging in Emerging Market Equity, GSA Capital International in Equity Market-Neutral & Quant Strategies, York European in Event-Driven, Fortelus in Credit & Distressed and CQS Directional Opportunities in Multi-Strategy.

Pelagus Capital won the award for Global Fixed Income for a second year in succession, while the Commodities award was shared by Armajaro Commodities and BlueGold Global (which had won a New Fund of the Year award the previous year) and the Managed Futures & Currency award was won by IKOS G10 Currency.

The New Fund of the Year in equity strategies was Marshall Wace Global Opportunities, while the winner of the award for best New Fund of the Year in relative value and macro strategies was Numen Credit Opportunities.

Over 800 people attended the EuroHedge Awards gala dinner, including most of the leading managers and investors in the European hedge fund industry.