Awards Performance

Citadel climbs to top as big winner at 2012 Absolute Return Awards


D. E. Shaw, Pine River, SPM, Third Point among other honorees.

 Rajiv Sobti, founder of Karya Capital, accepts his award for New Fund of the Year. Homepage image: Katie Spring of Citadel. (Photos: Axel Depeux)
Ken Griffin's Citadel emerged as the runaway winner at the 2012 Absolute Return Awards last night picking up three trophies including the coveted Fund of the Year prize.
The Chicago multistrategy firm, which last won an Absolute Return accolade in 2007, erased any lingering memories of its financial crisis struggles by beating out D. E. Shaw, Metacapital, Third Point, Tiger Global and Tilden Park for the evening's top